Development of tooth

Teeth (singular tooth) are small, calcified ,whitish structures found in the jaws (or mouths) of many vertebrates that are used to break down food.

There are four main stages of development of the tooth:

  • The first stage– in the fetus when the basic substance of the tooth forms.
  • Next, the hard tissue that surrounds the teeth is formed
  • After the child is born, the next stage occurs when the tooth actually protrudes through the gum.
  • Finally, there is the loss of the primary “baby” teeth.

The teeth on the upper jaw usually erupt one to two months after the same tooth on the lower jaw.

There are a total of 20 primary teeth.

Eruption of teeth happens at different times for each child. Below, we have provided average ages of eruption and shedding:

Radiographic  appearance of the development of teeth in the child of age around 6- 7 years

© 2012 Chandak Dental Clinic | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Website Developed & Powered by: attraitsolutions